Author Topic: Rally other game designers?  (Read 1004 times)

Defender

• Underling
Rally other game designers?
« on: September 15, 2012, 06:12:59 PM »
Hey guys! I'm a newbie here, but I've been playing COH since the beginning. I drifted away to other games here and there, but when I got a new computer to play a long-awaited new game recently, I installed the new game and COH right off the bat. Three weeks later came the COH shutdown announcement. NOOOOOO!

Yesterday I struck upon an idea that I haven't seen posted (though it might have been mentioned somewhere that I haven't seen). I could be behind the times here...

So the Paragon Studios developers are game designers, right? They create the world, draw up heroes and baddies, design adventures, and work up rules and combat systems to set it all in motion. Writers, artists, editors, etc. work together to create an environment where others join in and play. How is that different from the old pen and paper game developers? It's not. Well, except that the Paragon folks' work is pushed to your eyeballs via bits and bytes rather than paper. However, therein lies the Achilles heel of MMOs.

When a pen and paper game company goes belly-up, the "paper" is still out there. The world is still in the book. You can go and buy it at the store, bid on it at an auction (eBay, at a gaming con, etc), or trade for it. Heck, you could find it in a yard sale or have a friend give it to you. You crack open the book and it's there. The world, heroes and baddies, and adventures are yours to enjoy all you want. All the writers', artists', and editors' work is still available so long as the "paper" floats along through time.