Author Topic: Would Non-Profit or Trust Status Allay NC Soft's Concerns?  (Read 1221 times)

Sailboat

• Boss
Would Non-Profit or Trust Status Allay NC Soft's Concerns?
« on: October 03, 2012, 04:42:38 PM »
I've read several posts lately espousing the idea that NC Soft is intent in "burying" the IP rights to COH rather than selling them, because the game might in the future compete with other NC Soft properties.

Sounds plausible -- not necessarily that it would bite them in the profits, but at least plausible that they would worry about it.

I wonder if it would be possible to put their minds to rest on that issue?

I'm no lawyer, but I've heard of things being "held in trust" by some legal formula or other, and we've all seen single-purpose nonprofits -- Save the Bay, Save Homeless Pets, Eradicate Disease X, Save the Whales, and so on.

Would it reassure NC Soft if a nonprofit entity of some sort could be formed to "Save COH," and that entity could "hold in trust" the IP rights, expressly under the condition that it not re-sell any of the intellectual property to corporations (i.e., especially competitors)?

The game could continue on private servers supported by player donations, presumably dying a natural death if/when player donations dried up.

Yes, in one sense it would result in competing still, in that time and donations spent on COH might theoretically have been spent on other NC Soft products, but it would be only "indirect" competition, not backed by any industry giants trying to seize market share from NC Soft.

And think of the publicity bonus of having owned (and released to caretakers) the first game to inspire a nonprofit historic preservation entity!  What a huge gesture by the company, and what a news-generating story!