Author Topic: Editing The Database: Using NPC/Locked Costume Pieces  (Read 34796 times)

Kyriani

• Elite Boss
Editing The Database: Using NPC/Locked Costume Pieces
« on: July 08, 2015, 06:53:58 PM »
I am by no means an expert in this stuff. I mostly just stumble my way into inadvertent success.

First I downloaded a program called sqlite browser. You can find it here http://sqlitebrowser.org/

Fire up the program and open the database found at: %APPDATA%\Paragon Chat\Database

You cannot edit the db when ANY part of paragon chat is open. Even just having the xmpp login thing open will disallow it.

Once you have the database open you'll need to switch the "browse data" tab and use the dropdown to select costume parts.

Here's the tricky part... Make sure you export your costume file from the tailor and then you need to open your costume file (using notepad is easy enough) with your costume that uses npc bits and find the equivalent rows in the database and replace the info in each column with the info for the npc piece instead. Once you make your changes make sure you "write" to the database.

With enough trial and error you should be able to do it. I took me a few tries but my Kyri costume looks like this now!

« Last Edit: November 22, 2018, 05:17:43 PM by Kyriani »

Kyriani

• Elite Boss
Re: Editing The Database: Using NPC Costume Pieces
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 07:21:52 PM »
Some people are still having trouble editing costumes using my instructions... and I take full blame for that. I'm bad at this stuff and worse at explaining. If someone more tech savvy then myself could add to this topic with better instructions that would be greatly appreciated >_>

Phocks

• Underling
Re: Editing The Database: Using NPC Costume Pieces
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2015, 07:47:48 PM »
I was thinking of doing a guide myself for the db edits, but there's still a ton I've got no clue about. A quick guide for the curious about my process, which might be totally inefficient!