Author Topic: Paragon chat will not install  (Read 384 times)

Thosk

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Paragon chat will not install
« on: April 11, 2018, 11:58:46 PM »
In windows 10, logged into cohtitan, selected "paragon chat bootstrap" -- Paragon chat window comes up, but the only field that I could enter anything is "client command line parameters."  I have no idea what that is, what to put there (if anything) and am now stuck. 

the "Issue 24 install location" field shows a location that is not in my computer.  C:\users\twoga\AppData\local\microsoft|window...  does not exist from ....\AppData\... on.  (C:\users\twoga is valid)

Help please

Tahquitz

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,467
  • To Clear Your View
    • HERC Liaison/Advisor
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 01:22:05 AM »
Before we continue, do you have Issue 24 on your system?  It was the beta client before City of Heroes went down.

If you don't, there's Tequila!  Run this program, pick a folder for it to land in, and let it go.  It'll download Issue 24 and Paragon Chat for you all at once.

If you do have Issue 24, you need to know where it is on your hard drive then copy the path to it. Paste it in Paragon Chat's settings panel before logging on, and it'll check if the client has all the files to run.  If the client for Issue 24 is missing files, you can still download Tequila and use that folder as the destination in Tequila's settings to check and redownload the original files to save time.

From there, you should be able to sign in to Paragon Chat using your XMPP Username on the forums with "@chat.cohtitan.com" at the end (XMPP Username: Thosk@chat.cohtitan.com) and your Forum password as the XMPP Password.
Remember when ranting: always vent your spleen.

How Icon and Paragon Chat Works (by Felderburg) | Bored in Paragon Chat? Start something. | Property of Triumphâ„¢

Thosk

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 05:17:00 PM »
Thanks for the quick response.

I downloaded "there's Tequila" got a "done", paragon chat screen,  Selected "play"  Then "load" which got me back to the paragon chat window, with the same results as before. 

"Log in" is not highlighted, therefore cannot be selected.

At least I wrote down the location of the files and now know where they are installed.

Tahquitz

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,467
  • To Clear Your View
    • HERC Liaison/Advisor
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2018, 07:06:47 PM »
I'm down to guesswork at this point. 

If Log In isn't lit up, does Paragon Chat connect to the server when you first run it?  The green bar at the bottom should say a few phrases, the most common being "Loading", then "Loading Sequencers", then "Cleaning Up" before filling entirely with green.  If it doesn't fill up, stops, or is a color other than green, what does it do?

The other thought: if you're in a college/school environment, or behind a firewall (like work), Port 5222 is what is needed by XMPP.  Paragon Chat uses XMPP to connect everyone together.  If that is blocked, Paragon Chat can't reach a chat server.  There's no real fix for that for school/work, it's their network.  Mostly schools are trying to follow federal laws to keep kids off of porn even if port blocking is a ham-fisted method to accomplish it.  Workplaces, it's the Principle of Least Privilege.  You get what you need to do the job, nothing more.  If the Internet was wide open, viruses, malware, and hacking would be a cakewalk.  The only way around port blocking would be using a VPN or Tunnel, but that is against most Usage Policies and might get you in trouble.  Not worth it.

If you're at home, talk to your ISP and see if they block the following:

Code: [Select]
5222 TCP     XMPP client connection (RFC 6120)        Official 
5223 TCP     XMPP client connection over SSL          Unofficial
5269 TCP     XMPP server connection (RFC 6120)        Official
5298 TCP UDP XMPP JEP-0174: Link-Local Messaging /    Official
             XEP-0174: Serverless Messaging
8010 TCP     XMPP File transfers                      Unofficial
(Source: Wikipedia)

Most ISPs aren't forward about blocking services to their customers, even on "unlimited Internet" plans.  The best way to know is to ask directly.  The most important port is 5222.  If that port is blocked, it's a non-starter.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 07:34:55 PM by Tahquitz »
Remember when ranting: always vent your spleen.

How Icon and Paragon Chat Works (by Felderburg) | Bored in Paragon Chat? Start something. | Property of Triumphâ„¢

MyriVerse

  • Prom King 2017
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 271
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2018, 08:03:13 PM »
AppData should exist, but it is a Hidden folder by default. Do you have the "Hidden items" chosen under your View menu in Windows Explorer?

It's possible the location is a problem. Can you Browse to the right location? In my experience, it's usually in the "AppData\Roaming\..." directory. "Local" doesn't seem right, and especially "Microsoft..."
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 08:12:19 PM by MyriVerse »
aka Majadi | Sugar Cane | Absinthe | Killer Antz | Bogatyra | ...
Best Video Game of 2016 -- Paragon Chat!!!
Codewalker for Mayor of Paragon!

Thosk

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2018, 11:48:35 PM »
Thanks:  By opening "hidden items" I found AppData.  In AppData, I have \local\paragon chat\shaders    ?  Nothing in that file.

Also AppData\roaming\Paragonchat\bin, \client, \config, \costumes, \database, \pigs, \powercost, and \screenshots folders.

Also AppData\ tequila\Piggs, \q+plugins, screenshots, folders, and a lot of individual files.

I suspect this mess is due to trying to get the files from different sources, and am now considering deleting ALL of these and either trying "there's tequila" again or just giving up entirely.  Just in case, which (if any) should I NOT delete?

It was just a whim to roam around Paragon City again.  I played the game for around 6 years and loved it.

Thanks again

Thosk

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2018, 11:53:31 PM »
Taquitz:  I'm at home, computer is only a year old.  (a lot younger than me, certified 0ld f@rt) spent the better part of an hour with my ISP, first on phone, then on chat.  Never got past "I'm looking up your account to see, please hold."

PS the bar fills up and is green.

Thosk

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2018, 09:48:39 PM »
Thanks to all.  I deleted all those files and started over in a new ...\roaming\coh file.
IT WORKS !!!
Goosebumps !!!


Tahquitz

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,467
  • To Clear Your View
    • HERC Liaison/Advisor
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2018, 04:03:38 AM »
Cool!

Myriverse gets the points. :)
Remember when ranting: always vent your spleen.

How Icon and Paragon Chat Works (by Felderburg) | Bored in Paragon Chat? Start something. | Property of Triumphâ„¢

lunawisp

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • lunawisp - general gaming blog!
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2018, 05:22:08 PM »
Just for information, if you ever have to get to appdata again, just type %appdata% in the search line in file explorer. It'll take you to it whether or not you have hidden items viewable.
lunawisp was my Peacebringer in City of Heroes, she lives on in memory as my gaming id.

NJQuazar

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Paragon chat will not install
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2018, 04:50:35 AM »
I am trying to install Paragon chat on my new desktop. I tried the bootstrap installation as well as the Tequila file directly. It wants to install Microsoft Frame work. I select to install, and before it does anything, it wants to reboot. I reboot. Reload windows, and nothing. Try reinstalling, and the same damn thing. I even tried installing Framework directly from Microsoft, same thing. Can someone PLEASE help me?