Author Topic: Unable to establish control session  (Read 3421 times)

Sinjyn

• Underling
Unable to establish control session
« on: August 02, 2018, 05:42:11 AM »
I previously had trouble connecting due to a direct X issue...never got into Paragon Chat...dropped it for a few months, come back to try again...now this error.
I feel cursed. I am a fairly proficient PC user (I'm an IT installation/troubleshooting tech) so this kind of thing really irritates the shit out of me.

Codewalker

• Hero of the City
  • Titan Network Admin
  • Elite Boss
  • Moar Dots!
Re: Unable to establish control session
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2018, 01:23:59 PM »
Do you have any kind of host-based firewall software installed? The client process connects back to paragon chat over TCP. It's on localhost, so it's not exposed to the Internet, but some firewalls are dumb and don't make a distinction.

Sinjyn

• Underling
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2018, 08:46:56 PM »
I have nothing of the sort. Is it possible my ISP might block these ports at their end? I know COX Media, a prevalent ISP in Louisiana, blocks several ports without any notice to the end user...I've had to deal with them about that, but I am in Texas and use Comcast.
Alternatively, I have the windows firewall disabled...and no router twixt my PC and Modem.

Sinjyn

• Underling
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2018, 08:55:49 PM »
allowed access thru comodo and got in.

AvantGuardian

• Underling
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2018, 08:00:10 PM »
This is now occuring to me, "unable to establish control connection".

If I had the slightest idea what that actually meant I might be able to do something about it.
Anyone have any ideas?

Starfighter

• Underling
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2018, 08:53:38 PM »