Author Topic: Sentinel+ Import Tool  (Read 13080 times)

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2019, 09:05:03 PM »
Well, I got it to work finally ..
I Managed to import my saved toons to my private server ..
Issue was where the files were placed:

My server is located at "C:\CoH" .. call this the server root directory ..
I placed my character.txt files in the server root directory ..
Then point a command prompt in the server root folder:  "C:\CoH"
Then at the prompt "bin\dbquery.exe -putcharacter character.txt"

The issue I was having is that I had put everything in the bin folder .. just not so clear in the wording .. but its working ..
THANK YOU TO ALL !!  My toons are all home safe!!

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2019, 10:28:14 PM »
Also .. one thing I should mention .. the converter is quite picky .. when the character information was originally extracted with Sentinel .. it looked something like this:

globalname.characterserver.character name.xml

Well, the converter doesnt like that .. so I just changed the file name so a simple one

name.xml (using with above example)

So all that was where my errors started .. I just made things really simple .. and all worked just fine!! 

Thank you all once again!!

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2019, 04:26:02 PM »
Also .. one thing I should mention .. the converter is quite picky .. when the character information was originally extracted with Sentinel .. it looked something like this:

globalname.characterserver.character name.xml

Well, the converter doesnt like that .. so I just changed the file name so a simple one

name.xml (using with above example)

So all that was where my errors started .. I just made things really simple .. and all worked just fine!! 

Thank you all once again!!

I try to make the .txt file and get message error opening file.  What am i missing?
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

JordanYen

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2019, 08:01:29 PM »
Hey everyone, I managed to get it to work! I made a post about it here (https://www.reddit.com/r/Cityofheroes/comments/brtf0g/my_beloved_d3_defender_from_the_2012_shutdown/eogciaz/) , but the bottom line is that the last step with the import is missing a character:

Wrong
dbquery.exe -putcharacter [yourfile.txt]

YES!
dbquery.exe -putcharacter < [yourfile.txt]


As proof, here's my beloved level 50 D3 on my private server :)

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2019, 09:11:25 PM »
Hey everyone, I managed to get it to work! I made a post about it here (https://www.reddit.com/r/Cityofheroes/comments/brtf0g/my_beloved_d3_defender_from_the_2012_shutdown/eogciaz/) , but the bottom line is that the last step with the import is missing a character:

Wrong
dbquery.exe -putcharacter [yourfile.txt]

YES!
dbquery.exe -putcharacter < [yourfile.txt]


As proof, here's my beloved level 50 D3 on my private server :)

Congrats on your success,

So what is the trick to making the convert to text work in the first place? I keep getting errors
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2019, 05:25:46 AM »
Okay well now it seems to work, but it seems to stop on Loading Bodyparts.bin....
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2019, 07:38:57 AM »
I think it might be due to using the wrong piggs files ..
Make sure you are using the ones from the Tequila install i24 .. if you are using i25 piggs it wont work ..
What I did is that I copied the piggs folder into the folder where my costume save are in .. like I mentioned, I found the converter very picky .. and I made the process as simple as possible ..
Hope this helps a little!!  Good luck

tatmia

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2019, 06:24:24 PM »
Okay well now it seems to work, but it seems to stop on Loading Bodyparts.bin....

Does your character have more than one name?    Is it an older character that the costume extract program also failed on?

I get the hangup with those two types.

Changing the name to a single word works, but still get errors about the body parts and it doesn't make a file.  I have successfully created others.

tatmia

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #28 on: May 24, 2019, 06:32:16 PM »
So, now I'm creating the *.txt's   ;D

But still running into this error

c:\coh>bin\dbquery.exe - putcharacter < [boneshaker.txt]
The system cannot find the file specified

Any idea on if there error is referencing my txt or debquery.exe?


Tahquitz

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,831
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #29 on: May 24, 2019, 11:50:27 PM »
My money's on the brackets.  Take em off.
"Work is love made visible." -- Khalil Gibran

MREBoy

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • EMPATHY 4 LYFE !
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #30 on: May 25, 2019, 03:41:39 AM »
So on a slightly different tack, what is the probability of getting the original Sentinel+ extractors to work again ? I tried using SentinelBeta on 4 different servers and it could not detect the client, almost certainly because all the servers were i25 derived, and I don't know of any pure i24s out there currently.

Why do this?
1. To serve its original purpose again. If NCSoft goes all carpet bombing with C&Ds, the majority of servers will probably just disappear.
2. This is effectively the ultimate form of server transfer. If people don't like the community where they are playing, they could make a copy & start somewhere else assuming importation is an option. Or take their character on a server hopping tour. Alt-itis is fun and all but repeatedly having to make/re-make a "main" character would not be a good thing IMO.

eabrace

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,227
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #31 on: May 25, 2019, 03:48:02 AM »
I wouldn't even expect Sentinel+ to work on any I24 servers.  When the game was live, the tool had to be recompiled every time the game was patched to update the memory offsets where it needed to read information from the client.
Titan Twitter broadcasting at 5.000 mWh and growing.
Titan Facebook

Paragon Wiki admin
I was once being interviewed by Barbara Walters...In between two of the segments she asked me..."But what would you do if the doctor gave you only six months to live?" I said, "Type faster." - Isaac Asimov

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #32 on: May 25, 2019, 05:20:17 AM »
Does your character have more than one name?    Is it an older character that the costume extract program also failed on?

I get the hangup with those two types.

Changing the name to a single word works, but still get errors about the body parts and it doesn't make a file.  I have successfully created others.

Turned out the converter didn't like the file name for some screwy reason. There were no unusual characters in the xml file name of the character, it wasn't a hideously long name either, in fact I had a character back up with an even longer file/character name that did convert with no problem.

So after renaming the two files that kept hanging they converted....so now I have all of them converted to text files......

.....BUT THE IMPORT INTO THE SERVER STILL WONT WORK......


c:\coh\bin\dbquery.exe - putcharacter < characternamehere.txt
The system cannot find the file specified

please note the file name characternamehere.txt is a generic name for the purpose of posting here. I am using the correct file name :)
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #33 on: May 25, 2019, 06:04:31 PM »
KK .. I will write what I did .. I did manage to import all my saved characters to my server...

My server directory is
C:\CoH (yours might be different)
I put all my character.txt files in E:\CoH
In console (cmd.exe) I pointed the directory to C:\CoH
then I ran the command line:
bin\dbquery.exe -putcharacter yourcharacter.txt

It worked like a charm .. hope this helps!

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #34 on: May 25, 2019, 11:31:41 PM »
KK .. I will write what I did .. I did manage to import all my saved characters to my server...

My server directory is
C:\CoH (yours might be different)
I put all my character.txt files in E:\CoH
In console (cmd.exe) I pointed the directory to C:\CoH
then I ran the command line:
bin\dbquery.exe -putcharacter yourcharacter.txt

It worked like a charm .. hope this helps!

Before I attempt this, I need to take a rest.  Too much job stress.

Edit: okay came back and attempted this again, this time the command prompt window showed this:

Starting: bin\dbquery.exe -putcharacter eternal.txt
Quitting: bin\dbquery.exe -putcharacter eternal.txt

So I would think that it worked, but I log in and......character is not there.

So presuming that IS what the cmd screen should show as a success.....now what is wrong?
I'm starting to think that what I think is the account ID number I took from the character info screen when I logged in as a testing character isnt the correct one.

So where in the SQL can I confirm the account ID number?

oh just great.....now the client on my PC now suddenly says cannot connect to DBserver.....yet I know it is running!
« Last Edit: May 26, 2019, 04:00:39 AM by Sinistar »
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #35 on: May 26, 2019, 04:30:01 AM »
I took the information in the database .. do this:

Open Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio
Log into server
+ on Databases
+ on cohauth
+ on Tables
Right click on dbo.user_account
Edit Top 200 Rows

The information should be there for you

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #36 on: May 26, 2019, 05:11:19 PM »
I took the information in the database .. do this:

Open Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio
Log into server
+ on Databases
+ on cohauth
+ on Tables
Right click on dbo.user_account
Edit Top 200 Rows

The information should be there for you

The fields all say Null
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #37 on: May 27, 2019, 06:03:22 PM »
Hmmm .. if you have an account, it should show there ..
Have you created an account on your server yet?
Have you created a character on your server yet?
Might sound like a stupid question, but I have to ask ..
I have 2 accounts created on my server, and both servers appear there.

Sinistar

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,045
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #38 on: May 27, 2019, 07:56:25 PM »
Hmmm .. if you have an account, it should show there ..
Have you created an account on your server yet?
Have you created a character on your server yet?
Might sound like a stupid question, but I have to ask ..
I have 2 accounts created on my server, and both servers appear there.

Logged in with the client on my PC, VMware/server running on same pf many times had two logins with a test toon on each

Now however after booting up could server in VMware like always and then going through all server activation steps and then opening game client, the game client now can no longer find or connect to the db server.
Yet if I run the game client on the server also it can connect
Plus I still can't restore my alts

So I am thinking now that there is a massive hex on this whole thing and am thinking of deleting the virtual server and installed freedom package then install freedom again from rar storage, make a new vm server and start over

And then maybe see if someone here who had done this would like to remote in via team viewer and guide me since it is clear I am missing something that I cannot see..
In fearful COH-less days
In Raging COH-less nights
With Strong Hearts Full, we shall UNITE!
When all seems lost in the effort to bring CoH back to life,
Look to Cyberspace, where HOPE burns bright!

CraZboy

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Sentinel+ Import Tool
« Reply #39 on: May 27, 2019, 08:51:24 PM »
Well, the only thing I have used is Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio

The other thing that I was also made aware of, is that the server must be running in order to import the characters.

So other that what I've shared here, I really don't know why it isn't working on your end.

Last thing to share with you all, is that I found that sometimes the converter doesn't convert properly.  I did double check the .txt files before I did the import and I did find that some of the files were empty.   I had to use the ORIGINAL .xml files and create the .txt file from scratch.  I don't know why, but if you get failures in converting the xml files to the txt files, it corrupts the xml file, so ALWAYS WORK FROM A BACKUP .. you don't want to loose your original xml character files ...