Author Topic: how to verify badges?  (Read 6644 times)

Smash Zone

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 4
how to verify badges?
« on: December 12, 2009, 03:51:37 AM »
I downloaded and set everything up, had Glycerine running, got the script working, and went in-game to activate said script.  After the script was finished, I assumed that everything was done and it would list my badges on my character page. For some reason however, the site still says I only have 2 badges, and about 114 unverified badges. What's going on?

SaintNicster

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 04:10:01 AM »
I downloaded and set everything up, had Glycerine running, got the script working, and went in-game to activate said script.  After the script was finished, I assumed that everything was done and it would list my badges on my character page. For some reason however, the site still says I only have 2 badges, and about 114 unverified badges. What's going on?

Were the badges showing up in the "Badges Pending" list on the "Badges" column?  Was your character's avatar showing up in the left section of the window?

Were the badges giving you messages like "Air Pirate has been selected as new title" in the System (green) channel?

Glycerine will normally look something like this


Any of these striking a bell?


Smash Zone

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2009, 04:24:33 AM »
The badges were showing up in the "Pending" box, but not in the verified box. The messages in the chatbox were showing up ("[Badge] has been selected as title" and "Clearing badge title" were both appearing.) However, my avatar is showing as "Offline"

Here's what mine is showing up with, with some badges selected as examples.



Again, I can set the badges as pending, but the info isn't getting to the site. I'm guessing this has something to do with my avatar being "Offline."

SaintNicster

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2009, 04:53:14 AM »
The badges were showing up in the "Pending" box, but not in the verified box. The messages in the chatbox were showing up ("[Badge] has been selected as title" and "Clearing badge title" were both appearing.) However, my avatar is showing as "Offline"

Here's what mine is showing up with, with some badges selected as examples.

Again, I can set the badges as pending, but the info isn't getting to the site. I'm guessing this has something to do with my avatar being "Offline."

That would do it.  Does it just stay listed as offline?  There is normally a 30 seconds to a minute's delay before the characters register as being online.  How long are you waiting?


Smash Zone

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2009, 04:55:49 AM »
I was waiting for as long as the script took to complete, which was about 10-15 minutes.

But checking now, it's listing me as online. I'll try and run the script again and see what happens.

SaintNicster

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2009, 05:03:26 AM »
I was waiting for as long as the script took to complete, which was about 10-15 minutes.

But checking now, it's listing me as online. I'll try and run the script again and see what happens.

Looks like you are having a bit more luck on this char.  My biggest piece of advise is to be patient when it comes to adding the badges.  Add them in batches and wait.

You can also just manually click on the badges in the Badge window to set them as your title (and be detected in Glyc).  The only set you can't do this with is the Gladiators.


Smash Zone

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2009, 05:13:47 AM »
Huh, so it worked for my Tanker then? I'll have to try again on Proto tomorrow.

Thanks for the help!

eabrace

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,242
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2009, 05:20:43 PM »
I frequently see an issue with Glycerine only half registering me as being logged in identical to the issue you had above.  It only happens when I first start CoH from the updater and log in my first character.  Makes no difference how long I leave the game running (and there have been five- to eight- hour marathons in there).

There is, however, an easy way to work around this.  At some point in the process of firing the game up from the updater, logging in, selecting your server, selecting your character, and finishing zoning in, cycle the "Force Offline" option on Glycerine.  I have yet to get the half-login scenario after cycling offline and back.

Any time I see the half-login issue, Glycerine is always able to correctly identify when I quit to login and switch characters.  On a character switch, Glycerine always establishes a proper connection.

(It may be worth noting that I have Glycerine in my Startup folder and I never shut it down.  And since I don't routinely shut my computer down, it's quite possible for one instance of Glycerine to run for weeks without being restarted.)
Titan Twitter broadcasting at 5.000 mWh and growing.
Titan Facebook

Paragon Wiki admin
I was once being interviewed by Barbara Walters...In between two of the segments she asked me..."But what would you do if the doctor gave you only six months to live?" I said, "Type faster." - Isaac Asimov

SaintNicster

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2009, 05:30:59 PM »
*shudders* what is the memory usage like after one of these sessions?


eabrace

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,242
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2009, 10:48:23 PM »
The marathon gaming sessions or just letting Glycerine run for days on end?

Glycerine is currently wandering between consuming ~69k and ~82k of memory while sitting idle without CoH running.

I'll have to look to see how it's going after my next long game session.
Titan Twitter broadcasting at 5.000 mWh and growing.
Titan Facebook

Paragon Wiki admin
I was once being interviewed by Barbara Walters...In between two of the segments she asked me..."But what would you do if the doctor gave you only six months to live?" I said, "Type faster." - Isaac Asimov

SuckerPunch

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,608
    • Titan Network
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2009, 03:43:17 PM »
*shudders* what is the memory usage like after one of these sessions?

Glycerine actually handles memory like a champ, at least it did when I originally released it.  People reported very little fluctuation in memory usage over extended (days/weeks) of leaving it on.

I'm as shocked as anyone else about this :)

eabrace

  • Titan Moderator
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,242
Re: how to verify badges?
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2009, 06:12:08 PM »
Yeah, I don't think I've ever seen any issues with memory consumption in Glycerine.  And that sure isn't for lack of opportunity.
Titan Twitter broadcasting at 5.000 mWh and growing.
Titan Facebook

Paragon Wiki admin
I was once being interviewed by Barbara Walters...In between two of the segments she asked me..."But what would you do if the doctor gave you only six months to live?" I said, "Type faster." - Isaac Asimov