Author Topic: =PRIMER= CO for CoH Players  (Read 15279 times)

sinister8088

• Minion
=PRIMER= CO for CoH Players
« on: December 17, 2012, 08:23:19 AM »
Champions Online for City of Heroes Players
- A Primer -

I just started playing this game a week ago, and thought I'd share this list as a primer to get people who are familiar with City of Heroes started in CO if they haven't tried it.  I know it's not City of Heroes.  If City came back, I'd drop CO like a bad habit.  But compared to DCUO, I can stomach this a little more.  For now, I'm a refugee.

I might be wrong about something above (particularly the Inspiration-like drops, I can't find where those are called in-game, they matter that little, I guess.)  Feel free to correct me and I'll revise the above as I can.

-- Sinister8088

Special Thanks to Kaiser Tarantula for a number of contributions to the guide.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Assumptions made throughout this guide: you’re an Ex-City of Heroes player (I HATE saying that), and you're playing a Silver Account (F2P.)

This primer is meant as a brief introduction to Champions Online, and will not cover in-depth strategies, walkthroughs past Level 6, freeform builds, or other advanced topics.  If you want to learn more about any topic in this Primer, you can search it on the Champions Online Wiki, maintained by Cryptic.

To start, click on a subject below (links are in dark red.)

INTRODUCTION
  • History of Champions Online from Cryptic IP Sale of City of Heroes to Today
  • Game Setting
  • Account Types

CHARACTER CREATION
  • Character Slots
  • Archetypes
  • Freeform
  • Costumes

BASIC PLAY
  • Activity Button
  • Energy Bars
  • Powers and Fighting
  • Travel Powers
  • The Exit Button
  • Dropping A Mission
  • Concerning Autocomplete

MANAGING YOUR HEROIC ASSIGNMENTS
  • Mission List
  • Intro Mission
  • Missions After The Intro
  • Task Forces
  • The Radio/Newspaper (Incidental Missions)

BASIC CHARACTER ADVANCEMENT AND MANAGEMENT
  • Money