Author Topic: Aggro Management  (Read 3480 times)

CrimsonCapacitor

• Captain of the Hard Ship
  • Boss
Aggro Management
« on: January 14, 2013, 03:11:54 PM »
I'm used to the COH style of tanking:  Throw out a taunt and the bad guys swarm to the tank, letting the team hit them with AoE's and take them down.

Aggro management in CO is much more fluid.  Granted, I'm still learning the game...

I have a tank build, at least it's SUPPOSED to be tank-like.  He can take a pretty serious pounding and just wades into mobs when soloing.  Shoot, sometimes I aggro multiple mobs soloing just for fun.

But on teams, he's less than stellar.  The squishies get attacked.  I can't hold the bad guys' attention.  Case in point:  Friends and I are running the "Witchcraft TF" (I know CO uses other terminology.  I'm still learning it, so I tend to speak in COH terms) where you fight what's his name Black...  We're all the way at the end where you have to manage his aggro while the demon key does his thing.  The first 1/3 of Black's health bar is easy and quick.  He focuses on me as a tank, just like he should.  Then... *sighs*  He starts spawning mobs.  My tank has two AOE attacks with "challenging strikes" on them (best option I saw to keep aggro focused on me).  the mobs start pounding me.  The empathy toon(s) are spamming heals, as I just need to keep things focused on me and not the key.  And then, multiple spawns notice the blaster and healers and things fall apart quickly.  We tried about a dozen times with different strategies.  "this time, I'll run and try to get them to chase me.  This time, I'll dive underground and pop up across the room.  This time, me and the scrapper will go in together."  Nothing worked.  I'd get a few swings in on the mobs and then they'd turn to the squishies.

Are there any tips to aggro management in CO? 
Beware the mighty faceplant!

Kaiser Tarantula

• Elite Boss
  • @Nerva
Re: Aggro Management
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 08:51:06 PM »