Author Topic: Couple questions about demoediting :) costumes and powers  (Read 2367 times)

daveyfiacre

• Lieutenant
Couple questions about demoediting :) costumes and powers
« on: January 15, 2013, 06:31:32 PM »
Hi! So I'm new to demoediting, and it's a lot easier than I thought. I'm just piddling around right now, trying to see what does what, but I had a couple questions that maybe y'all can give me a little direction with :)

1: how do i display a power execution? >_> can i do that? can i have an example of someone having done that? gonna experiment with holding a weapin next i think but i'd love to have them casting a power as the camera rotates around.

2: is there a way to easily convert a .costume file into text for me to put into my demoedit file?

right now i'm at this point [thanks to y'all on the forum and that DEMOlition builder thing]:

any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated! :D

Arachnion

• Elite Boss
  • Professional Cynic
Re: Couple questions about demoediting :) costumes and powers
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 08:41:32 PM »
1: how do i display a power execution? >_> can i do that? can i have an example of someone having done that? gonna experiment with holding a weapin next i think but i'd love to have them casting a power as the camera rotates around.

2: is there a way to easily convert a .costume file into text for me to put into my demoedit file?

1. Using MOVs.
http://paragonwiki.com/wiki/Demo_Editing/List_of_MOVs#MOVs_confirmed_to_work_on_player_models
http://paragonwiki.com/wiki/Demo_Editing/List_of_MOVs#Valid_MOVs_for_the_player_skeleton

Open your demo file in wordpad/notepad, find your character name, then look for MOV.
Replace what's there with something from the list above, boom.

I'd advise you read a bunch of threads in this sub-forum, if you haven't already.
I haven't experimented with them, but practically every animation from the game can be used as a MOV.