Author Topic: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...  (Read 28299 times)

Codewalker

  • Hero of the City
  • Titan Network Admin
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,614
  • Moar Dots!
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2012, 10:24:59 pm »
10 days is a loooong time to leave that open.

And without that little tidbit of information, what I'm about to post probably wouldn't have happened quite so quickly. :)

Arachnion

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Professional Cynic
I'm all dressed up with nowhere to go
Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder

Waiting for an invitation to arrive
Goin' to a party where no one's still alive

sl701

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2012, 10:29:48 pm »
My anticipation

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vHRMeRszw4

Yeah, that sums it up niecly... I should sleep now, tomorrow's going to be hard at work, but... Oh God, oh man...  ;D

Codewalker

  • Hero of the City
  • Titan Network Admin
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,614
  • Moar Dots!
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2012, 10:31:17 pm »
Here's the official thread: http://www.cohtitan.com/forum/index.php/topic,7288.0.html ~Agge



All right, since I know a few people *cough* have been itching for this, here's a very, VERY rough version. Call it an alpha test.

http://repo.cohtitan.com/icon/icon.exe

Stick it in your COH program directory and run it from there.

This version works ONLY on the Issue 24 beta client. It also doesn't yet unlock VIP or purchasable costume parts. All of that I'm planning on doing, but wanted to get this out there as a proof of concept while I work on the polish. Tonight I'm hoping to work on that and on making it work with the last I23 client for all the slackers who didn't download Beta.

Yes I do see the irony in a program called Icon (after the tailor) not having an icon. That will be fixed soon. :)
« Last Edit: December 15, 2012, 07:33:36 am by Aggelakis »

Arachnion

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Professional Cynic
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2012, 10:32:24 pm »
You made a program already?

Heh heh.

Thanks for this, and all your hard work man.

Appreciated.

 ;)
I'm all dressed up with nowhere to go
Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder

Waiting for an invitation to arrive
Goin' to a party where no one's still alive

RedRaccoon

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #25 on: December 10, 2012, 10:32:56 pm »
You're my hero, really. Staying in the editor for so long... That's what I call dedication!  8)
Well, what the heck else is there to do when you can't play the actual game anymore?   :)


Back when I first started playing City of Heroes, I used to have a lot of connection problems with my internet, but I noticed that if I was in the costume creator when the internet went down, I never got booted off.  Sometimes I spent hours creating costumes just waiting for the internet to come back.  If I backed out to the server selection or tried to enter the game, I got logged out, but otherwise I was good.  So that's how I knew the costume creator would keep working as long as I logged in before the servers turned off.

Now I'll have to see how long I can keep it going.

Golden Ace

  • Boss
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
  • Moon Zone Damn it!
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2012, 10:34:40 pm »
i am interested....

Codewalker has the floor.
♫Sometimes you feel like a Tank, Sometimes you donít!♪

Arachnion

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Professional Cynic
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #27 on: December 10, 2012, 10:40:12 pm »
Icon.exe works.

 ;D
I'm all dressed up with nowhere to go
Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder

Waiting for an invitation to arrive
Goin' to a party where no one's still alive

sl701

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #28 on: December 10, 2012, 10:40:31 pm »
Tonight I'm hoping to work on that and on making it work with the last I23 client for all the slackers who didn't download Beta.

Darn, why do I have to be a slacker, whyyyy?!  :'(

Anyway, thanks for the work, Codewalker. And to the I24 client users... Have fun! Good night everyone  8)

downix

  • Phoenix Project Technical Lead
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,864
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #29 on: December 10, 2012, 10:54:26 pm »
Works fine.

Arachnion

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Professional Cynic
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #30 on: December 10, 2012, 10:58:51 pm »
Saving and viewing costume files all work.

You can't load the costumes that have locked parts, however.


http://s12.postimage.org/42yuajyjv/Arisen.png
I'm all dressed up with nowhere to go
Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder

Waiting for an invitation to arrive
Goin' to a party where no one's still alive

Septipheran

  • Boss
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #31 on: December 10, 2012, 11:06:48 pm »
All right, since I know a few people *cough* have been itching for this, here's a very, VERY rough version. Call it an alpha test.

http://repo.cohtitan.com/icon/icon.exe

Stick it in your COH program directory and run it from there.

This version works ONLY on the Issue 24 beta client. It also doesn't yet unlock VIP or purchasable costume parts. All of that I'm planning on doing, but wanted to get this out there as a proof of concept while I work on the polish. Tonight I'm hoping to work on that and on making it work with the last I23 client for all the slackers who didn't download Beta.

Yes I do see the irony in a program called Icon (after the tailor) not having an icon. That will be fixed soon. :)


Wow... Thanks so much, this is awesome! I am noticing a bit of an issue- I had to back out to the login menu in order to turn my graphics settings back to max and turn my resolution back to 1920x1080. My computer played on max settings without any issue at all. After making these adjustments and relaunching your program, I was getting some "lag" in the costume creator which was strange. This is hardly the end of the world and I could totally turn things down a little, but I just wanted to point out the problem just in case anything could potentially be done about it. Thanks again!

Codewalker

  • Hero of the City
  • Titan Network Admin
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,614
  • Moar Dots!
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #32 on: December 10, 2012, 11:09:38 pm »
If you're coming here from Twitter or another link, please head to this post instead. There you will find the latest version of Icon along with instructions for how to use it.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2012, 03:10:50 pm by Codewalker »

Septipheran

  • Boss
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #33 on: December 10, 2012, 11:12:08 pm »
http://repo.cohtitan.com/icon/icon.exe

has been updated.

The version I just uploaded is (theoretically) compatible with the Issue 23 client.

It's completely drycoded though as I don't have an I23 client handy to test it with. While it should work, no promises. Don't blame me if your computer explodes, though that would be a neat trick since the exe is only 9.5k! Welcome to alpha testing.

I just dropped it in my COH (non beta) folder and I can confirm that it works! I'm still getting the same framerate issues that I mentioned in my previous post though.

Arachnion

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Professional Cynic
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #34 on: December 10, 2012, 11:14:03 pm »
Strange.

I don't have any framerate issues, and I'm running full graphics.

I am running it windowed, however.

Probably just your rig.
I'm all dressed up with nowhere to go
Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder

Waiting for an invitation to arrive
Goin' to a party where no one's still alive

Codewalker

  • Hero of the City
  • Titan Network Admin
  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,614
  • Moar Dots!
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #35 on: December 10, 2012, 11:17:23 pm »
That's very weird. It doesn't do anything other than trick the client into bringing up the creator page with a fake player structure and a dummy network connection. The program doesn't even stay running once coh is launched.

Maybe try turning off ambient occlusion? The costume editor doesn't really use it anyway but it's a complex shader.

Septipheran

  • Boss
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #36 on: December 10, 2012, 11:19:17 pm »
I just rebooted and I'm not having issues anymore, so it was on my end. Not sure what was happening, but a simple reboot without changing any settings did the trick. Sorry about the false alarm!

Arachnion

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Professional Cynic
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #37 on: December 10, 2012, 11:23:54 pm »
Is the fact that in this thread about a suggestion for the creator.. irony, now that we have working access to it?
I'm all dressed up with nowhere to go
Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder

Waiting for an invitation to arrive
Goin' to a party where no one's still alive

Moonfyire101

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 296
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #38 on: December 10, 2012, 11:28:24 pm »
This is amazing, Iím so happy...now to figure out how to get our vip stuff and packs and capes and stuff in it... and again wow...you are a genius!!

cpease61

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: So, I was thinking... costume creator might be possible...
« Reply #39 on: December 10, 2012, 11:29:48 pm »
Hi nice job, could you include instructions on how to do this with the mac version please, im guessing its not too hard just addtional instructions